In My Kitchen – Christmas 2011

As usual, there is the mad rush at the end to get things organised for Christmas.

Here are a few of my adventures in the kitchen for this Christmas.

Home made mince pies are always a treat. Their production is a joint effort. I make the pastry and the BW assembles the pies. Here they are presented on a ‘lovely’ Rudolph cake stand I received from Kris Kringle!

Sausage rolls are yummy, made by the Sausage King, even better now that he has been to a sausage making course!

It has been a few years since I last made Chocolate Whisky Cake. It is very rich with whisky soaked raisins in it. I am a bit disappointed with the chocolate I used this time. It was quite bitter, I’m sure I didn’t overheat the chocolate. Next time I will investigate some better quality chocolate. The small cakes are good to give to people when it is so rich.

I had two failures today, the dessert for tonight and the dessert for Christmas Day!!

I had made large individual meringues for Christmas Eve. These burnt on the bottom even though I cooked at a lower temperature than the recipe indicated. I have had my oven for 6 years but still can’t cook meringues properly in it. Luckily I had some tiny meringues that I had cooked following Christine Manfield’s instructions, so they saved the day.

For Christmas Day I had planned to make Pandan Pannacotta. That was a disaster!!

I had chopped the pandan and grated ginger and placed with the milk. As I was gently heating the milk, it suddenly separated so that I was left with curds and whey with no hope of recovery.

There was no way that I was going to tackle the shops again so I made Bill Granger’s mango pudding which was no problem at all (except the quantity of gelatin leaves are always a problem).

As I will be travelling, the puddings are an ideal solution. Thanks Bill.

As a fun activity for next year for you or your kids, you could make these funny little “puddings” out of marshmallow, white chocolate, spearmint leaves, and jaffas.

Merry Christmas everyone!

For more Christmas fun go to Celia’s blog.

4 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – Christmas 2011

  1. Your meringues are beautiful- I use a silpat mat that keeps mine from burning, but yours are so much prettier! And the sausage rolls and mince pies had my mouth watering.
    We had roast chicken and stuffing with palova and sweet potato pie for dessert.
    I love Christmas eating!

Leave a Reply

