Passionfruit and Cherry Pudding

This pudding is a family winter favourite. The passionfruit and the cherries go perfectly together and the smell of it cooking is divine.

The pudding is similar to clafouti but lighter in texture. I find if I mix the egg mixture well, the pudding puffs up better. I usually use frozen cherries but canned work as well. It also works with raspberries and I have used peaches. In Sydney we are lucky to have passionfruit  available most of the year. If not I am fortunate to have frozen pulp available locally, from Frozberries or I substitute orange juice.

I have been making this recipe, by Lynne Mullins, for some years after keeping a page out of an old magazine. I have found the recipe online but I will include the ingredients as the measurements don’t seem to appear very well .

Passionfruit and Cherry Pudding

1/2 cup passionfruit pulp (about 6 passionfruit)

30g sifted plain flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

60g caster sugar

4 eggs

1 cup milk

500g pitted cherries

The online recipe is here.

There are plenty of passionfruit around at the moment so give it a try, especially on a cold rainy night.

2 thoughts on “Passionfruit and Cherry Pudding

Leave a Reply

